THE SELF

A Great Therapist Helps You Fall in Love With Yourself

They serve as a mirror for you and reflect you back to yourself.

Deborah Lara
3 min readOct 7, 2020

--

I have great appreciation for the therapists in my life who have helped me see myself more clearly; for the therapists who have listened deeply from their heart and soul; for the therapists who have seen the best in me when I didn’t see it in myself; for the therapists who have helped me discover and nurture a version of me that has a richer relationship with myself, deeper inner resolve, and more authentic inner joy.

A really great therapist hangs out with us in spaces within our heart, mind, and soul that most people just can’t meet us in or stay in with us. For that one hour, they give themselves over to *our* inner process. The focus is on us. They give us their intense presence. They create space within their psyche for us to experience our own depths.

How many people in our lives listen to us fully without an agenda, without inserting themselves into the conversation, without getting anxious or distracted or defensive, or without projecting their thoughts and opinions onto us? How many places in our lives do we honestly get to explore the depths of our own mind and life circumstances?

--

--

Deborah Lara

Marriage and Family Therapist. Writing about conscious relationships, emotional maturity, and healing intergenerational trauma.